Australia Cup 2022: What is it, when are games, which teams are competing, how to watch and what happened to the FFA Cup?

The Australia Cup is a new name football fans Down Under will have to get used to.

After extensive consultation, Football Australia (FA) settled on Australia Cup as the new name for the FFA Cup in February 2022.

Here’s everything you need to know about the competition…


What happened to the FFA Cup?

After FA changed their own name in late 2020, they set out to find a new moniker for Australia’s largest national knockout football competition.

Fans were asked to put forward their own suggestions and a decision was ultimately made prior to the most recent cup final.

“Through discussion with Australian football historians, and dialogue with fans and stakeholders of the competition, the consensus was that the name Australia Cup truly speaks to what this competition is and represents,” Football Australia’s chief executive officer, James Johnson, said earlier this year .

“We are pleased that through this process pioneering players, clubs, and officials can feel recognized and connected to the competition.

“The research and consultation we have conducted regarding this name change indicates that people will be overwhelmingly happy with the shift to Australia Cup from 2022 onwards.”

Melbourne Victory FFA Cup Final

Following the same format as the FFA Cup, the Australia Cup is a knockout football competition consisting of clubs from across the country.

A total of 10 A-League Men clubs will enter the competition at the round of 32 stage with various preliminary rounds held before that.

Those rounds take place across every member federation in various forms with each federation allocated spots in the round of 32 as follows:

  • Capital Football: 1 spot
  • Football NSW: 4 spots
  • Northern NSW Football: 2 spots
  • Football Northern Territory: 1 spot
  • Football Queensland: 4 spots
  • Football South Australia: 2 spots
  • Football Tasmania: 1 spot
  • Football Victory: 5 spots
  • Football West: 2 spots

The preliminary rounds of the 2022 Australia Cup began on February 11 and are currently still running.

The Australia Cup playoffs for A-League Men teams will take place on May 12-13.

No dates for the round of 32 have been confirmed as yet but the final is expected to be held in October prior to the 2022-23 A-League Men season beginning.

The 2021 FFA Cup final was supposed to take place around that time but COVID-19 delays meant it wasn’t held until February 5, 2022.

Competition Club
A-League Men melbourne city
A-League Men Melbourne Victory
A-League Men WesternUnited
A-League Men Adelaide United
A-League Men Central Coast Mariners
A-League Men wellington-phoenix
A-League Men MacArthur FC
A-League Men Sydney F.C.
A-League Men Newcastle Jets
A-League Men brisbane roar

Network 10 currently have the broadcast rights to the Australia Cup.

All games from the play-offs and round of 32 onwards can be streamed on 10 Play, while select matches will also be shown on television via Channel 10 or 10 Bold.

Some preliminary round games will also be available on the Australia Cup Facebook page or My Football YouTube channel.

Two A-League Men teams won’t be competing in the 2022 Australia Cup.

The clubs who finish eighth or above in the league this season will guarantee their place in the competition.

Sides outside of that will have to win a playoff match against a fellow A-League Men team to secure their spot in the Australia Cup round of 32.

Reigning champions Melbourne Victory had to do this last year when they beat Perth Glory on penalties on their way to the title.

Australia Cup playoff match details

Date Time (AEST) Match Stadium Broadcast
Thursday, May 12 7.30pm Newcastle Jets 3-1 Perth Glory McDonald Jones Stadium 10 plays
Friday, May 13 7.30pm Western Sydney Wanderers 1-3 brisbane roar Wanderers Football Park 10 plays

While FFA Cup champions previously received some prize money, the big reward on offer for Australia Cup winners now is the chance to compete in Asia.

Melbourne Victory were given a place in the AFC Champions League play-offs as a result of their 2021/22 triumph.

The winner of the Australia Cup in 2022, meanwhile, is set to automatically get a place in the AFC Cup.

Australia Cup/FFA Cup past winners

Year Champion
2021 Melbourne Victory
2020 N/A
2019 Adelaide United
2018 Adelaide United
2017 Sydney F.C.
2016 melbourne city
2015 Melbourne Victory
2014 Adelaide United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.